History of the British Indian Ocean Territory BIOT Stamps

British Indian Ocean Territory stamps – Controversially created between 1968 and 1973 by the expulsion of the local Mauritian population, these islands are used by the UK and the USA as an airbase and only military personnel, and some private contractors, now inhabit them. BIOT Postage stamps have been issued since 17 January 1968. As the territory was originally part of Mauritius, these stamps were denominated in rupees until 1992. However, since that date they have been issued in denominations of British Pounds, the official currency of the territory.

Philatelic postscript: Created as a Crown Colony in 1965, amalgamating islands formerly administered by Mauritius and the Seychelles.

Interested in British Indian Ocean Territory stamps? Register for lot alerts

Don't want to wait for the auction? View our stamps available to buy now >

Related Pages

BIOT Stamps