Indian Convention States stamps | STAMPS OF THE Indian Convention States

The Stamps and Postal History of the Indian Convention States

During the 1880s the states of Chamba, Faridkot, Gwalior, Jind, Nabha & Patiala agreed postal conventions with the Imperial Government by which the British Indian Post Office supplied stamps overprinted with the name of the state.

These states agreed to conform with stamp issuing policy, postage rates and to the handling of mail from other areas. Mail bearing these stamps could be delivered anywhere within British India. Many collectors who might otherwise be wary of collecting the often primitive Feudatory State stamps enjoy building collections of Convention State issues as they are the same stamps as British India but simply with an additional overprint. Most of the listed errors on these stamps involve the overprints which can include errors of spelling, inverted, doubled, missing characters etc.

Indian Convention Stamps for Ssale

We offer Indian Convention stamps and Indian Convention stamp collections, complete sets, errors & varieties, proofs, essays, postal history and covers including first day covers for this area. Philatelists should regularly visit this page as our auction lots constantly change so whether you are searching for rare stamps from Indian Convention, classic stamps, postmarks & cancellations, specialised collections, estate boxes and anything related to Indian Convention stamp collecting and filling your stamp albums – just keep your eye on us!

To receive lot alerts for Indian Convention stamps – register here


Indian Convention Stamps – Related Pages

India stamps

India Feudatory States stamps




Sign up for our

Get our stamp articles and auction news direct to your inbox!



Stamp Articles