British Indian Ocean Territory Stamps | BIOT Stamps

Stamps and Postal History of the British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT)

British Indian Ocean Territory stamps – Controversially created between 1968 and 1973 by the expulsion of the local Mauritian population, these islands are used by the UK and the USA as an airbase and only military personnel, and some private contractors, now inhabit them. Postage stamps have been issued for the British Indian Ocean Territory since 17 January 1968. As the territory was originally part of Mauritius, these stamps were denominated in rupees until 1992. However, since that date they have been issued in denominations of British Pounds, the official currency of the territory.

Philatelic postscript: Created as a Crown Colony in 1965, amalgamating islands formerly administered by Mauritius and the Seychelles.

To receive lot alerts – register here


Sign up for our

Get our stamp articles and auction news direct to your inbox!



Stamp Articles