History of Canadian Provinces Stamps

Canadian Provinces Stamps - The stamps issued for the Colony of Canada between 1851 and 1864 are of the same philatelic status as the five other well-known stamp-issuing provinces, however, they're generally accepted as the first stamps of Canada. Most collections do not separate them from those issued for the Dominion of Canada when it was formed in 1867.

British Columbia and Vancouver Island issued stamps between 1860–1871, joining the Dominion in 1871; New Brunswick issued her stamps between 1851–1863 joining the Dominion in 1867; Newfoundland issued stamps rich in tourist-related pictorials between 1857–1949 joining the Dominion in 1949; Nova Scotia issued between 1851–1863 joining the Dominion in 1867 and Prince Edward Island issued stamps from 1861–1872 joining the Dominion in 1873.

Interested in Canadian Province's stamps? Register for lot alerts

Don't want to wait for the auction? View our stamps available to buy now >

Related Pages

Canadian Province stamps