Indian Convention States stamps

The Stamps and Postal History of the Indian Convention States

During the 1880s the states of Chamba, Faridkot, Gwalior, Jind, Nabha and Patiala agreed postal conventions with the Imperial Government by which the British Indian Post Office supplied stamps overprinted with the name of the state.

These states agreed to conform with stamp issuing policy, postage rates and to the handling of mail from other areas. Mail bearing these stamps could be delivered anywhere within British India. Many collectors who might otherwise be wary of collecting the often primitive Feudatory State stamps enjoy building collections of Convention State issues as they are the same stamps as British India but simply with an additional overprint. Most of the listed errors on these stamps involve the overprints which can include errors of spelling, inverted, doubled, missing characters etc.

Sandafayre are highly respected as the leading expert and the global authority in the field of rare stampshighly collectable stamps, postal history, collections and entire estates of collectables. We have stamps for sale from Great BritainThe Commonwealth and countries worldwide. Sandafayre buys stamp collections and are philatelic auctioneers. We sell stamps to philatelists and stamp dealers from all over the world. Sandafayre holds online stamp auctions every week, and we also hold public auctions of stamps and stamp collections.

To receive lot alerts for Indian Convention stamps – register here


Related Pages

India stamps

India Feudatory States stamps




Sign up for our

Get our stamp articles and auction news direct to your inbox!



Stamp Articles