australian territories Stamps

The Stamps and Postal History of Australian Territories

Australian Territories Stamps – Formerly administrated by New South Wales, Norfolk Island used that colony's stamps from 1877, then stamps of Australia between 1913–1947, attaining postal independence and issuing its own stamps in June 1947, and eventually losing postal independence in 2016. Papua, officially a British colony but administered by Australia, issued its own stamps from 1901, having previously used Queensland stamps. Stamps of Australia were issued there between 1945–1953. Transferred from Singapore to Australia by the UK in the 1950s, Christmas Island and Cocos (Keeling) Islands were progressively and separately integrated into the Australian postal system eventually losing their postal and philatelic independence in the 1990’s.

The Australian Antarctic Territory had always used stamps of Australia but introduced its own in March 1957. They are valid for postage within Australia.

To receive lot alerts register here




Sign up for our

Get our stamp articles and auction news direct to your inbox!



Stamp Articles