Welcome to our site! Advanced Search

Papua New Guinea


1952, Sterling.
1966, 100 cents = 1 dollar Australian.
1975, 100 toea = 1 kina.

FIRST STAMPS Queensland, British New Guinea, German New Guinea and Territory of New Guinea.

FIRST STAMPS ISSUED As a trust territory. 30 October 1952,
As Papua New Guinea. 26 January 1972. As a self-governing territory:
5 December 1973. As an independent country: 10 September 1975.

The former territory of New Guinea and the colony of Papua were consolidated as an Australian trust territory under the United Nations in 1946. The civil administration was resumed earlier than this and was completely operative from July 1946. The name was changed to Papua New Guinea in 1972 and the territory became self-governing on 5 December 1973. Independence was granted on 10 September 1975.

Postal History
Used the stamps of Australia from 1945 to 1952. Stocks of the former adhesives were destroyed in 1945-6 but were accepted within the boundaries of the former territories until 1954. In 1945-6, three Australian commemorative issues were made available, including the Victory issue, but thereafter only the definitive issues were used.

Next Page >>

Current Stamp Auctions


    We offer thousands of items for sale, here are just a few of our favourites...

  • MAURITIUS - 1848-59 2d blue imperf

    MAURITIUS - 1848-59 2d blue imperf "PENOE for PENCE" variety, Row3/1, Worn Impression "POST PAID", SG 20a, fine used with a neat central ringed cancel, tiny pinhole under cancel & a clear example of the variety. A beautiful example with good colour of this seldom seen issue.

    Go to item details...

  • NAURU - 1916 10s indigo- blue Waterlow Seahorse with

    NAURU - 1916 10s indigo- blue Waterlow Seahorse with "SPECIMEN" overprint, SG 18s, never hinged mint. Few exist in never hinged condition, a beauty.

    Go to item details...