Welcome to our site! Advanced Search


FIRST STAMPS India to 1947.



1947, as India.
1961, 100 paisa = 1 rupee.

Until partition in 1947 all British India shared the same fortunes (see India). As established as a British dominion on 14 August 1947, Pakistan consisted of two geographically separate parts: Western, comprising Baluchistan, the Western Punjab and Sind, and the North West Frontier Provinces; comprising Assam and North and East Bengal. The former stamp issuing states of Las Bela and Soruth came within its borders. On 29 February 1956 an Islamic republic was declared within the British Commonealth. Military dictatorships and new constitutions have alternated ever since. In 1959 the capital was moved from Karachi to Islamabad (near Rawalpindi). Following a civil war between East and West Pakistan, the Eastern province declared itself independent as Bangladesh. On 30 January 1972 Pakistan withdrew from the Commonwealth, but rejoined in 1989.


FIRST STAMPS ISSUED 1 January 1945 (official only).


1945, as India.

A native state of Pakistan. Separate stamps, which were valid only locally within the state, were discontinued at the end of 1949.

Next Page >>

Current Stamp Auctions


    We offer thousands of items for sale, here are just a few of our favourites...

  • GREAT BRITAIN (QUEEN VICTORIA) - 1840 2d blue,

    GREAT BRITAIN (QUEEN VICTORIA) - 1840 2d blue, "S G" plate 1, SG 5, good to fine used with black MX cancel and four good to large margins.

    Go to item details...

  • CANADA - NEWFOUNDLAND - 1933 $4.50 on 75c yellow-brown Air

    CANADA - NEWFOUNDLAND - 1933 $4.50 on 75c yellow-brown Air "GEN. BALBO FLIGHT" overprint (SG 235, Unitrade C18), superb mint, very fresh.

    Go to item details...